The Department undergoes a major change this year, with its renaming to The Department of Art History. The Department also launches a new Instagram account as part of this transition. The Department organizes its first-ever international internship programme at Hong Kong House, Echigo-Triennale Japan. Elizabeth Lastra leaves the Department, while Angie Baecker and Sim Hinman Wan stay in the Department. Koon Yeewan receives the University’s Outstanding Teaching Award 2020. To expand the study of Hong Kong art, a group of students from the Hong Kong Art Workshop develops the Hong Kong Art Timeline under Koon Yeewan’s supervision. Carolyn Muir passes away in December 2020.